Rebooting the DotSpatial Steering Committee

Coordinator
Sep 10, 2013 at 3:29 PM
Hi all, we are interested in rebooting our DotSpatial steering committee. If any of you are using DotSpatial in a project or are otherwise interested in the success of the project, we would encourage self-nominations for our committee.

Just post a reply to this comment and give us a quick introduction.

Thanks,

Dan Ames - DotSpatial Project Manager
Developer
Sep 10, 2013 at 10:24 PM
Hello,

My name is Kyle Ellison. I have been a developer on DotSpatial since 2010. I am a software architect for GeoCue Corp. in Madison, AL (USA). I recommended and led the effort at our company to incorporate DotSpatial as a core component of our commercially available geospatial production management software. The DotSpatial version of this software has been in use in the field for over 2 years. I have been a proponent of making DotSpatial perform well in demanding situations where large datasets are the norm.

Thanks,
Kyle
Sep 13, 2013 at 9:11 PM
Not sure what a "steering committee" does, but for a starter how about just having someone at home here? The simple patch I submitted in May has not been applied yet. It fixes 3 bugs.

If people perceive that a project is moribund, they typically suspend working with it, as I have.

Thanks.

-Phil
Sep 15, 2013 at 1:38 PM
Hi,

In the past I understood that DS is the next version of MapWindows, using the .net framework and abandon the OCX component.
So I thought the developers from MapWindows will migrate to DS during the next years.
But now I saw that a new MapWindows version is coming out.

https://mapwindow5.codeplex.com/

Why we need to develop 2 projects so similar? Why not make a base component and add special extension libraries for special functions and interfaces.

Better one active project than 2 projects with low contributions.

Thanks

Thomas
Sep 15, 2013 at 4:06 PM
Why we need to develop 2 projects so similar?