need a kick

Mar 6, 2013 at 9:00 AM
I am trying to plot some points on a map, taken online from Google Maps, Bing, etc. The coordinates in my database are lat/long ie 53,-120 such as you see from a GPS or Googleearth.

The points draw and a layer is being created BUT they are all around the map point 0,0 (equator, Greenwich) . The coordinates from the map when using any of the providers are very LARGE numbers (13277607.00, 6951393.00) and thus my GPS points are all very tiny.

How can I change the map to use what I consider to be standard coordinates or alternately, how can I convert my database entries?

There is an example I have followed to create a FeatureSet from an Excel file, and it appears they are using the same style as I use, ie 53, -119

I must have missed something obviously simple, so that is why I am requesting a kick.
Mar 6, 2013 at 12:45 PM
I am new to DotSpatial and have not used the Map Control, but I have seen in my searches that you need to set the Projection Property of the map component to the same projection that your Lat/Lon coordinates are.
ProjectionInfo wgs = KnownCoordinateSystems.Geographic.World.WGS1984;
map.Projection = wgs; //This I am not sure of since I do not know the control
Mar 6, 2013 at 12:50 PM
If you create a new point layer with this projection you can use your lat/long values.
_myPoints = New FeatureSet(FeatureType.Point)
_myPoints.Projection = KnownCoordinateSystems.Geographic.World.WGS1984

Dim c As New Coordinate(53,-120)
Dim p As New DotSpatial.Topology.Point(c)
Dim currentFeature As IFeature = _myPoints.AddFeature(p)
Mar 6, 2013 at 2:33 PM
Edited Mar 6, 2013 at 2:34 PM
Thanks for the advice. Here is what I have set up, but it still does not work. The status display of the x,y coordinates is still ridiculously BIG and my points make one star at 0,0 of the map (for about 200 points).

The MainForm routine:
//**************************************************************************************************