a idea to create public tutorial/problem documents to new users

Jun 10, 2011 at 10:21 AM

Dear guys,

I have used Dotspatial as library for my project for a few months. During this time, the tutorials from Documentation help me a lot and it provide me first insight into Dotspatial. However, sometimes I am really new in programming and I found I cannot understand or study only from tutorial to my project. Some problem I cannot sovlved out by myself and so I have to ask your guys in this discussion forum.  It is a very struggling process to do so due to two aspects, one is tutorial is very limited and it only provide basic and common manipulation to users. The second is that different people do different things, and they have different experence in Projection, Data, Topology, Positioning, whatever etc. We have to wait until someone in this aspect to give indications or suggestions, which is not productive or efficient.

I therefore have a idea. Could we make a public tutorial/problem documents. The people who familar dotspatial can roughly make a general problem/solution structure(probably anyone have other idea) for this documents, such as FeatureSet problem, positioning problem or other etc, and and guy help to categoried the content. Then hope the document are put on the web everybody can download and fill in their contents, including their problems and problem solutions that have been done, or done by help by other people. Then they upload this file on web agagion. If some people cannot find their need in basic tutorial, he maybe can reference similar problem solution in this public tutorial/problem documents, like a open-source tutorial/problem documents. If this public document can be updated day by day, it really saved a lot of time for developed to explain more fundamentals or actually solutions who have been done.