This project is read-only.

WMS project and other considerations

Dec 30, 2010 at 9:35 AM

Hi everybody.

First of all, I want to acknowledge shade1974. With your help I’ve been able to finish my project.

Next, I want to show some problems or questions that I have found working with DotSpatial. Please, be patient, I’m a newbie in C# and DotSpatial (also in english, what else?) and maybe the code that I’ve include here is not the best.

Info/identification tool

- Suppose you have identified with this tool a point of a vector layer. The info of that point is shown in the right part of the FeatureIdentifier window. Now, suppose you click on the map in a place where there are no features at all. In this case, the left part of the FeatureIdentifier window is updated and shows no features, but the right part of this window continues showing the information of the first identified point.

- Is it possible to change by code the attribute field (of the identified features) shown by default in the left part of the FeatureIdentifier Window?

map.ZoomToMaxExtent( )

- In my proyect I use WMS images as a background of the map. So, in the Form_Load procedure I have put the following code. (in the comments of this code are described two problems that I have found):

map.Projection = KnownCoordinateSystems.Geographic.World.WGS1984;

int mapWidthPix, mapHeightPix;
          mapWidthPix = map.MapFrame.View.Width;
          mapHeightPix = map.MapFrame.View.Height;

if (( (double)mapWidthPix / (double)mapHeightPix ) >= (360.0 / 180.0))
          {
              map.ViewExtents.MinX = - (mapWidthPix * 180.0) / (mapHeightPix * 2.0);
              map.ViewExtents.MaxX = (mapWidthPix * 180.0) / (mapHeightPix * 2.0);
              map.ViewExtents.MinY = -90.0;
              map.ViewExtents.MaxY = 90.0;
          }
          else
          {
              map.ViewExtents.MinX = -180.0;
              map.ViewExtents.MaxX = 180.0;