This project is read-only.

geo-spatial query (by elevation)

Dec 16, 2010 at 9:15 PM

Hello,

I'm relatively new to GIS, so I hope the following question doesn't come as an annoyance to those with more experience.

I'm looking for a means of finding all regions of land above a given altitude. More concretely, I'm trying to develop a map rendering layer that warns the user (a pilot) of any land forms that are at or above their elevation, by simply shading those regions on the map with a red color. So, ultimately, I need to query some elevation data within a given radius very efficiently to generate polygons corresponding to these obstacles. I'd imagine this sort of thing has been done before, but I'm not familiar with the concepts and/or terminology involved. Is this type of querying something that DotSpatial might be able to handle, and is there a particular concept or term that I've described here?

For a little more background, we're using GTOPO30 DEM files for various parts of our map rendering software. We've considered a few options:

1. At compile time, generate vector based shapes at various elevations, and split them into tiles. Using a custom binary format, it would be straightforward to achieve O(1) lookup per visible tile at a given elevation... but I'd imagine the amount of data would be huge.
  2. Create a quadtree of elevation points. Each node would contain the max and min elevation of all descendant nodes, so it wold be easy to preclude vast sets of points. Rendering would merely involve querying the quadtree to fetch lat-lon-elevation pairs, take the convex hull and render it as a filled polygon.
  3. [Right] Triangulated Irregular Networks were suggested to us, and while I would have no trouble generating a [R]TIN (there are plenty of libs out there), I am unaware of an algorithm to perform this type of query upon a [R]TIN ...