Create FeatureSet directly from database

Nov 20, 2010 at 3:41 AM

Hello:

I cannot find any sample or document on how to create a featureset directly from a database since my data stored in database instead of .shp file,

so I have to create a shp file first from datatable using shapelib, then add it to mapcontrol.

Does anybody can advise me a better way?

Developer
Nov 20, 2010 at 3:49 AM

What format is your database?

I just posted an OGR Dataprovider.  If the format is supported by the ogr project then you may be able to read it with this extensoin

Nov 20, 2010 at 1:37 PM

thanks keenedge, I am using Postgresql.

Developer
Nov 20, 2010 at 3:15 PM

This new extension is very experimental and I don't have experience with postgis.  If you need help getting it running private message me and we'll work through it. 

May 13, 2011 at 7:06 PM

hello, I'm new at this, I need to put the geographic information of my country, which is in a postgresql table in the control map of dotspatial, thank a specific example, if you can to VB. NET OC #, THANKS

Editor
May 13, 2011 at 8:35 PM

this might be of interest

http://dotspatial.codeplex.com/workitem/206

hth FObermaier

Jun 22, 2011 at 6:58 AM
keenedge wrote:

What format is your database?

I just posted an OGR Dataprovider.  If the format is supported by the ogr project then you may be able to read it with this extensoin

I want to store data into ms sqlserver database, and then retrieve them.

codes are shown below:

1              string strConn = "MSSQL:server=LOCALHOST;database=mssqlspatial;trusted_connection=yes;tables=boundary";

2              OgrVectorProvider ogrProvider = new OgrVectorProvider();

3              FeatureSet fs = ogrProvider.Open(strConn) as FeatureSet;

4              map1.Layers.Add(fs);

But exception is raised at line #2. Could you tell me why? Thanks.

Developer
Jun 23, 2011 at 10:35 PM

Can someone who has gotten this working post some installation tips?