This project is read-only.

FDO Support

Sep 15, 2010 at 7:15 AM

Hi All,

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Jackie Ng.

I am a developer and Project Steering Committee member of the FDO (http://fdo.osgeo.org) and MapGuide Open Source (http://mapguide.osgeo.org) projects.

I am also the developer of FDO Toolbox (http://fdotoolbox.googlecode.com)

I have only recently started to follow this project with some interest, I have extensive knowledge of FDO, and would like to offer my abilities in adding FDO support to the DotSpatial project.

With introductions out of the way, I have some questions about the current data interfaces (namely IVectorProvider and IFeatureSet).

1. The IVectorProvider interface seem to assume file-based data sources. FDO is agnostic about the data source. It could be file-based (SDF, SHP, SQLite), dbms-based (Oracle, SQL Server, PostGIS) or server-based (WMS, WFS). Is there a way to address this impedence mismatch? Or should I set my sights lower and just support file-based FDO providers for the time being?
  2. Is the FeatureSet class a good enough base-class to build FDO specific functionality on? Implementing IFeatureSet from scratch could take a while.
  3. FDO has a rich data model.
    • A FDO data store can have multiple feature schemas
      • Each schema can have multiple feature classes
        • Each feature class can have multiple data properties (attributes) and geometric properties